what is this ‘vacation’ of which you speak?

My Facebook status said it all yesterday: Va-ca-tion! (clap) Va-ca-tion! (clap).

I’ve been chanting this for almost 24 hours, now. The fact that I actually have time to post anything to this blog today is a sure sign that I’m using the time to get to things that I’ve kept shoved under a rug while the robot has been in control: get up, run, work, cook, kid time, bed. Do it again.

Like I said. Robot.

I’m excited to report that I’ve felt inspired to try some new recipes. This past weekend, I made a vegetable stew that was out of this world. The recipe is over at Fat-free Vegan Kitchen (SusanV): Ridiculously Easy Lentil and Vegetable Stew

This recipe was a great way to use up the half amounts of both frozen and fresh vegetables that I had in the refrigerator: 1/3 bag of fresh baby spinach, 1/2 bag of fresh shredded carrots, 1/2 bag of frozen green beans, 3 ribs of celery (chopped), and some frozen corn. I also ended up using butternut squash puree instead of pumpkin, because I has a squash to use. I’m not sure that I reached the 2 pounds of fresh vegetables that the recipe recommended, but it still turned out as a “stew” consistency.

And it tastes wonderful. How wonderful? My dinner-isn’t-dinner-without-meat-and-potatoes husband asked for more. My 4yo is still not a “soup” person. I could have put candy in there and she still wouldn’t eat it. Oh, well.

For the rest of vacation, day 1, I’m going to get supplies in order for our family dinner on Saturday. I’m looking for a good marinade for our turkey. Husband suggested the cranberry-soy-onion marinade that I use for pork loin. Possible. Outside of roasted turkey, I’m keeping the sides light: cornbread stuffing, sauteed cauliflower, and either butternut squash with spinach -or- if I get lazy enough, a simple spinach salad with dried cranberries shredded carrots and crumbled goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

